Howdy Neighbor, Welcome to the Nest…

I always told myself I would never do it, I would NEVER move into an apartment. Throughout my college career I lived in a beautiful historic cooperative house with a fantastic yard, a tin roof that played the harmony to the rains melodies, great beer drinking balcony, and the best hammock strung Sunday afternoon reading porch. I could garden, compost, collect rainwater, had city recycling and rarely had to use the air conditioner. Friends and neighbors were always around engaging in food and good conversation. Community was fostered and seeds of change were planted. I thought I could never live in a place that didn’t have these wonderful amenities which allowed me to both live well and be environmentally and socially responsible.

Well college has now come and gone, and I have moved from the small town to the “big” city and the reality of adulthood and post college life is settling in. So in other words, the luxury of living in a city and in a house that is affordable is not always a possibility. Therefore I have done what I said I would never and have taken the leap into true urban living; I am officially an apartment dweller. I no longer have the option to garden, compost, select my energy provider, or get city recycling services. However, I can ride my bike to work, utilize public transit, and am helping to minimize sprawl by living in a high density urban setting. As these realizations came to pass for me I began to ponder what more as an apartment dweller I could do to be more eco and socially conscious with the imposed limitations. I commenced my search for such information. I was disappointed to find few sources that provide such insight for urban or renter sustainability. Knowing there are others like me out there I decided something had to be done.

And as the story goes…Urban Eco Nest was born! This blog will be dedicated to small scale sustainability. Check out the Urban Eco Nest to discover the latest tips, ideas, news, and innovations that apply to sustainable urban living. Prepare to be flooded with the latest information in innovative design, technology, products, and methods to achieve sustainability on the urban level. I believe every scale makes a difference in creating true change. I encourage you to join the journey to achieving urban sustainability and to learn some great tips along the way!

1 Comment

Filed under Urban Sustainability

One response to “Howdy Neighbor, Welcome to the Nest…

  1. I cross posted your blog announcement and linked you. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

